Good news for me, potentially unfortunate news for others: I’ve just been informed that the colored vinyl Hombre Lobo LP I received last week is a fluke. That is, all copies were supposedly intended to be regular black vinyl, but a snafu at the pressing plant resulted in gold-yellow LPs randomly mailed out to folks who bought the album.

If that was a mistake, then, as Eels representative Jake puts it, it’s “a really cool mistake.” Indeed!

I was lucky enough to land a copy without even trying. I was not aware of colored vinyl LPs, but the cover has a sticker saying “Limited Edition Color Vinyl”, so hallelujah. You may or may not want to order your own copy, but bear in mind you may just get a regular black vinyl copy (which is still really cool). I’m not sure what the ratio of colored to black vinyl LPs is.

Neat. I’d take a photograph of the vinyl, but I’ve never intended to open it.